I can’t decided if I’m indecisive or not…


    I have come to realize that when faced with decisions I have a hard time making a choice. I just always want to consider all the possible options. For example last year I bought a coat. I tried on every coat in the store! And ended up buying the very first coat I tried.
    I know that some people are very decisive, and know with in seconds if something is for them. The irony is that this is what I do for a living: help people decide quickly what they want.  Often I know what the customer will choose before they do.
    The real problem comes when it is small things like what I want at a restaurant or which color to paint my nails. But real life decisions can take months to act on. This has caused problems in the past.
     The Robert Frost poem comes to mind: “The Road not Taken” Which is often referred to as “The road less traveled by.” (wrong…)  The author talks about wishing they had taken the other road. Now I have, on a few occasions, wished I had made a different choice in life. However, I know that my life is what makes Me.
     Some might say that making choices with the first answer that comes to mind would be the solution to this problem…. I have tried this too. It only works about 50% of the time. The real struggle is finding a happy medium between these. The struggle that I should really deal with is the questions of: “what if?”
    You can’t always wonder. Maybe just go out and try that other choice!! Add adventure and cure the ills of coulda, shoulda, woulda.
    I have always thought of myself as an optimist! But I realize now that life had made me a pragmatist. That’s the core of my decision making process. Make a choice then be prepared for the worst possible outcome. That way if I’m prepared…. It won’t be so bad. And I can still be happy with the choice.
    At least that’s what I’ve decided for now.
-Cindy

About cindyh85

It's complicated..... You better read up...

Posted on October 12, 2011, in The Universe. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

